Dockwood (2013) - 11 minutes
Commissioned by Manchester Camerata
for orchestra [ - - timp - strings]

Programme Note
Dockwood is titled after a 2012 book of the same name by Bristol-based illustrator and printmaker Jon McNaught. McNaught's book is subtitled '2 Autumn Stories' and follows two inhabitants of a small town as they go about their business on a quiet autumn day. A kitchen porter at a nursing home distractedly prepares lunch for the residents. A teenage paperboy goes on his evening paper round before returning home to play video games. The book is an expert presentation of the gentle beauty in the autumnal process of decay and the subtle ironies of the places we look for distraction and solace in the face of unrelenting change. 

Dockwood was written for the Manchester Camerata as part of the Sound and Music 'Embedded' Composer in Residence programme.

Performance History
May 17, 2013 - Manchester Camerata, Gabor Takács-Nagy, conductor, Stafford Gatehouse Theatre, Stafford, UK
May 18, 2013 - Manchester Camerata, Gabor Takács-Nagy, conductor, The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, UK